Skip to content

Data Provider: Welsh Government National Statistics WIMD 2014 local authority analysis
Data Type[Filtered]
Area Code[Filter]
Local Authority[Filter]
Click here to sortTotal LSOAsClick here to sortMost deprived 10% LSOAs in Wales (ranks 1 - 191)Click here to sortMost deprived 20% LSOAs in Wales (ranks 1 - 382)Click here to sortMost deprived 30% LSOAs in Wales (ranks 1 - 573)Click here to sortMost deprived 50% LSOAs in Wales (ranks 1 - 955)
Isle of Anglesey132144356(r) 122
Conwy21319(r) 5186140
Denbighshire17442(r) 52(r) 75(r) 148
Flintshire276(r) 15(r) 4065(r) 107
Wrexham25530(r) 54(r) 95149
Powys23752134(r) 63
Ceredigion138111327(r) 89
Pembrokeshire2131730(r) 51(r) 117
Carmarthenshire336(r) 13(r) 30(r) 57(r) 127
Swansea44438(r) 7693(r) 146
Neath Port Talbot273(r) 29(r) 6696(r) 172
Bridgend2642663(r) 106(r) 172
Vale of Glamorgan23719(r) 5473118
Rhondda Cynon Taf462(r) 39(r) 77(r) 128(r) 206
Merthyr Tydfil1084787152229
Caerphilly33031(r) 72(r) 110(r) 203
Blaenau Gwent141(r) 63(r) 128(r) 179259
Torfaen180(r) 27(r) 73(r) 120(r) 185
Monmouthshire16851226(r) 67
Newport285(r) 5294(r) 125(r) 178
Cardiff642(r) 52(r) 87(r) 113(r) 153


WIMD 2014 Local Authority Analysis

Last update
12/08/2015 12/08/2015

Publishing organisation
Welsh Government

Source 1
Welsh Index of Multiple Deprivation, Welsh Government

Contact email

National Statistics

Lowest level of geographical disaggregation
Local authorities

Geographical coverage

Languages covered
English and Welsh

Data licensing
You may use and re-use this data free of charge in any format or medium, under the terms of the Open Government License - see

General description
WIMD is the Welsh Government’s official measure of relative deprivation for small areas in Wales. It is designed to identify those small areas where there are the highest concentrations of several different types of deprivation. As such, WIMD is a measure of multiple deprivation that is both an area-based measure and a measure of relative deprivation.

WIMD ranks all small areas in Wales from 1 (most deprived) to 1,909 (least deprived).

The Index has three main components:
- The Index itself, which is a set of ranks;
- The ranks of the eight types of deprivation, or domains, from which the overall Index is constructed;
- The underlying indicators, which are directly measurable, and which are combined to create the domain ranks. Many, but not all, of the indicators are produced as rates. The units depend on what is being measured.

All of these components are calculated for each of the LSOAs in Wales. The overall 2014 WIMD ranks and the ranks of the eight domains of deprivation are published on the StatsWales website. Where available, the underlying indicator data is now published annually on StatsWales.

The overall methodology used within WIMD 2014 is the same as used for WIMD 2011. The domains have also stayed the same. There have been a small number of changes to individual indicators (or the inclusion of new indicators) within the Education, Access to Services, Community Safety, Income and Physical Environment and Housing domains; as well as some technical changes to some of the individual domains. Further information is provided in the WIMD 2014 Publication and WIMD 2014 Technical Report.

Data collection and calculation
See information contained in weblinks

Data reference periods
See information contained in weblinks

Users, uses and context
See information contained in weblinks

Rounding applied
See information contained in weblinks

Revisions information
The Department for Work and Pensions (DWP) discovered an error in the income indicator data they had provided for the income domain of WIMD which relates to the accidental exclusion of some data on tax credits. The 2014 income indicator data feeds through to the Income domain ranks, and overall WIMD 2014 ranks. This data was revised on the 12th August 2015.

Statistical quality
See information contained in weblinks

WIMD 2014; Multiple Deprivation; Deprivation; Social Inclusion; Local Authority; LA; Index; Income; Employment; Health; Education; Community Safety; Housing; Physical Environment; Access to Services